THE RED BARN

What If, I were to tell you, that God has an enormous amount of blessings for you, but he wanted you to ask? Would that sound strange? As Christians, we tend to think we are not supposed to pray for ourselves and that doing so would be selfish, but the opposite is true. Of course we are to continue praying for others,life’s circumstances, worship, thanking God, etc, but God doesn’t want us to neglect ourselves. If we look to the scriptures for guidance we see how the faithful understood the importance of asking and receiving God’s blessings such as in 1 Chronicles 4:10  “Jabez called on the God of Israel saying, Oh, that you would bless me indeed” Jacob wrestled all night long with an angel, struggling to win God’s blessing in Genesis 32:36 he cried out, “I will not let you go unless you bless me!” This was what God was waiting to hear and it wasn’t until he asked that the angel gave Jacob God’s blessing.  In his youth Jacob desired God’s blessing to the point of stealing the blessing reserved for his older brother.We shouldn’t carry out our desire that far, but you get the point that I am trying to make. If you look at David in the Psalms he knew the value of God’s blessings and was grateful. Abraham like us made a lot of mistakes and didn’t earn his blessings, but he never stopped reaching Genesis 12-25.

These scriptures remind me of a story I heard a long time ago about the “red barn” it goes like this. A man named Joseph died and went to heaven. St. Peter met him at the gates to welcome him and show him around heaven. In all of the places that St. Peter brought him Joseph he could see in the background a huge red barn that was buckling at the seams as if ready to burst and on the top of the barn was inscribed “Joseph”. Well Joseph just knew this barn had to do with him and asked St. Peter about it. St.Peter replied, I will show you that later and continued journeying through all the levels of heaven, but everywhere they went Joseph could see the barn. He was amazed at how full it looked and wondered what was inside. Unable to wait any longer Joseph pleaded with St. Peter to tell him about the barn. St. Peter finally conceded and told him that the barn you keep seeing is stuffed to overflowing with all of the blessings God had for you in your lifetime that you never asked for.

Can you imagine a barn like that with your name on it? and how you may have needed these blessings at integral points of your life and missed out because you didn’t ask. I hope this barn story encourage you and me to pray for God’s blessing more and to believe he will bless us abundantly. Matthew 7:11 If you with all of your sins, know how to give your children what is good, how much more will your heavenly Father give good things to anyone who asks him!  1 Corinthians 2:9 “eye has not seen, ear has not heard, nor has it so much as dawned on man what God has prepared for those who love him” James 1:17 “every worthwhile gift, every genuine benefit comes from above, descending from the Father of the heavenly luminaries, who cannot change and who is never shadowed over”

The blessing prayer,

Dear Lord, I want every single blessing that you would love to give me. Forgive me for not desiring these enough to ask for them. Please open your heart, and be gracious to me. You are good, and everything you do is good. So let me experience you today, in all of your abundant loving kindness, even though I am in all of my unworthiness. Touch my life in ways that are very personal so that I don’t miss your fingerprints. Bless me, Lord, I pray bless me, indeed! And I will praise you, from whom all blessings flow. Amen

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Another beauty ! Love it !! Thank you Dawn !

    Like

Be Sociable, Share!

Neal Obstat Theological Opining

Theological thoughts on current happenings

Winning With Jesus

Experiencing Victory in Jesus

Dawn's Faith Connection

blogger, writer, speaker

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Stop Running

Fr. Geoffrey A. Brooke Jr.

I Have to Sit Down

blogger, writer, speaker

