EXPECTATIONS

praying-hands2

Have you ever taken the time to listen to the words that come out of your mouth? Words like, “I can’t” or “this is impossible” and “that happens to other people, but I’m not lucky like that.” Somewhere along our life journey we have learned to find a comfort zone in low expectations. We lose faith in ourselves and then in the process we lose faith in what we believe God can and will do for us. We limit God. I’ve heard people close to me say things like, “I don’t deserve that, but I would be happy with this” They settle for less, because they think they don’t deserve more, that they’re not worthy. I had an experience recently that showed me how much we can limit our blessings.

I and another co-worker, put together a fundraiser to help us through a temporary financial crisis. We sent out letters explaining our situation and asked if they can donate $500-1,000 dollars, however we would be grateful for any donation they can provide us with. Our goal was to reach a total of $10,000. We sent out the letters and prayed for God’s blessings. I kept saying wouldn’t it be great if someone walked through the door and gave us a check for the full amount of $10,000, what a relief that would be. This desire welled up so much in my heart; I truly believed it would happen. I kept saying every day to Carolyn, just wait and see someone is going to walk through this door and give us a check for the full amount. She retorted, yea right Dawn, we would be lucky if they gave us a check for $500, don’t get your hopes up.  Within a week a couple walked through our door and handed us a check for $10,000 dollars. I thought Carolyn was going to faint, you should have seen her face. I left early that day and while I was gone Carolyn told me, someone slipped a $500 dollar check under the door. So far we haven’t received any other donations, which is why this experience sticks out so much in my mind. On this one day we received exactly what I was expecting and exactly what she was expecting.

This situation reminded me of the scripture in Matthew 9: 28-30 “Do you believe that I can do this?” “Yes, Lord,” they said to him. Then he touched their eyes and said, “Let it be done for you according to your faith” and their eyes were opened.  Before almost every miracle Jesus’ performed he said those words “let it be done for you according to your faith” or “it is your faith that healed you”. Imagine how differently our blessings would be if we did not limit God by our expectations. Today is the feast of the Immaculate Conception and the Gospel reading is the Annunciation where the Angel Gabriel shares with Mary the blessing God wants to give her. She was overwhelmed, this was far greater than any expectation she would have thought of for herself. Her fears were calmed by his words, “For NOTHING is impossible with God” Luke 1:37

Annunciation_FraAngelico

These words are the words we should live by and like Mary let go of our expectations and fears. Just think of the miracles that can and will happen in our lives if we dare to believe.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Phyllis Ludovico December 8, 2012 — 4:36 PM

    I am afraid to ask for to much less I become greedy –that is of course not true the lord says “ask and you shall receive”–believe me when you ask from your heart God knows the difference-nothing is impossible with God–yes dare to believe in miracles and wait to see what God does

    Like

  2. I absolutely love it !!!! Thanks so much for sharing Dawn !!!

    Like

  3. BEAUTIFUL! THANK YOU FOR SHARING!!!!!!! Date: Sat, 8 Dec 2012 16:08:27 +0000 To: mariacilento@hotmail.com

    Like

Be Sociable, Share!

Wheat or Weeds

Matthew 13:24-30

Dawn's Faith Connection

blogger, writer, speaker

Neal Obstat Theological Opining

Theological thoughts on current happenings

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Stop Running

Fr. Geoffrey A. Brooke Jr.

I Have to Sit Down

blogger, writer, speaker

