New Year’s Resolutions for the HOPEFUL

Happy New Year

I can’t look back on 2012 without saying thank you to each of you for supporting my blog. I started this new adventure in blogging to improve my writing skills, so, I could write my adoptive son’s story with hopes of publication. His story is laced with adventures, from being homeless, living on the streets, and in shelters, experiencing poverty, addictions, and abuses in the foster care system, a near death experience to miracles, a new family and a new lease on life, as he refers to himself, “how I went from nothing to something.” This blog has been up since August 11th 2012 and as of today it reached over 2,200 views. Not bad for a little over 4 months. I am truly grateful for your kind words, your sharing of the stories that touched you with others, commenting on posts that moved you and most of all for supporting me. I can’t thank you enough.

This morning I read a comment from a man who said that making a New Year’s resolution was trivial, because they all fade away. There may be some truth to that, but for the most part I don’t buy it. Setting positive goals for yourself and having hoped that they will come to pass is good for us, even if we peter out and don’t make it to the top. Each time we try and climb we make it higher and closer to our goal than the time before. I don’t know about you, but I had a rough year. It was very challenging on many levels and I experienced a lot of losses. It almost seemed as though God were erasing much of my past. Looking back, I see the symbolism behind the losses as an important part of the process in moving forward. Tomorrow is the first blank page of 365 days in our life’s journey. Letting go of the past frees us to embrace a new beginning. I love this quote from C.S. Lewis

goals

We believe what we tell ourselves through our thoughts and in our words. We need to be careful of what we think and repeat in our heads, because it always travels to our hearts and then we believe it. We live in a society that tells us in, consumerism, and social media, that we aren’t good enough, we can’t achieve what we want without the sale of their products or self-help regimes, and when we hear these mantras enough we start to believe them and it dashes our hopes. So does our past upbringing. We must not repeat the wounds of our past in our thoughts and we must realize the importance of having dreams and setting goals to achieve them. Our life does not get better by chance, it gets better by change. I recently heard Joel Osteen say that whatever follows “I am” follows you. We need to change the “I am” to end in positives.

I am

Joy follows hope. We need to have hope through our New Year’s resolutions. People do climb the mountain and make it to the top. Some of us lose oxygen along the way and turn back and that’s okay, each time we try we grow more stamina and discipline to reach the top as we lose oxygen and the incline gets steeper. The good news is we can do it, if we don’t lose our hope. Hope through Advent brought joy in the birth of Christ. Hope through the crucifixion brought joy in the resurrection. My prayer for each of you as you make your New Year’s resolution with hope of completion is that, you are drenched in joy at the success of your achievements. The LORD God is my strength— he will make my feet like those of a deer, equipping me to tread on my mountain heights. Habakkuk 13:9DREAMS

 

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. THANK YOU! HAPPY NEW YEAR! 🙂 Date: Mon, 31 Dec 2012 20:00:01 +0000 To: mariacilento@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. You have been an inspiration for all of us. You have risen, recreated and are on a new path. Watch out Pt.Pleasant ! Can’t wait to see what God has instore for you next. Your a great leader with many gifts. With love from one of your many friends who is right behind you, just like the birds who fly in a v-form,together……….Remeber,every few miles that lead bird takes a rest and coast in back of the formation. I guess your done resting !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  3. Happy New Year

    Like

  4. Thank you so much Dawn for sharing your gifts of writing, devotion & compassion through these amazing stories. They have brought faith, hope and humility to us all. So looking forward to the New Year and new inspiring blogs!!

    Like

Be Sociable, Share!

Wheat or Weeds

Matthew 13:24-30

Dawn's Faith Connection

blogger, writer, speaker

Neal Obstat Theological Opining

Theological thoughts on current happenings

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Stop Running

Fr. Geoffrey A. Brooke Jr.

I Have to Sit Down

blogger, writer, speaker

