ENDURANCE

desert

There was a time in my life when I experienced a situation that was very painful. I felt like I was walking through fire and the flames where unbearable. I begged God to relieve me from it and he didn’t. I stayed in that situation for three long years before I was free from it. I unfortunately, can’t tell you that it ended well, because it didn’t. There were times I felt so discouraged I was tempted to give up, but I didn’t.  I stayed, I endured, I survived and it did end.

There are times in our lives when for reason unbeknownst to us, we find ourselves in difficult situations and it seems we are meant to dwell there and tough it out. No one wants to dwell there, at least I know I didn’t. Looking back I can truthfully say that it was an important time in my life. I found this suffocating and painful period of time, to be the force, that pushed me into a growth experience that I would have never achieved otherwise. This horrible experience prepared me for what awaited me down the road and it was much better than where I was. I never would have achieved this invaluable knowledge had I not endured.

St. Paul had a similar experience in 2 Corinthians 12: 8-10   concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me.  And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.  God chose not to take away the torment Paul was experiencing  because, it prepared Paul for what lie ahead of him. God’s Grace was sufficient for St. Paul to endure the suffering and it was for me too and it is for you as well.

edge

I used to tell myself during those times that those who kneel before God can stand before anyone. If you are going through a grueling experience and there seems to be no way out. Just wait there… God will answer in his time. 1 Corinthians 10:13 the temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure. God will show you the way out when the time is right and you will be so much better for it.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thank you! This is helpful for the situation I am in right now. Please keep up the great work! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 Date: Sun, 23 Jun 2013 20:59:44 +0000 To: mariacilento@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!

    Like

Be Sociable, Share!

Wheat or Weeds

Matthew 13:24-30

Dawn's Faith Connection

blogger, writer, speaker

Neal Obstat Theological Opining

Theological thoughts on current happenings

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Stop Running

Fr. Geoffrey A. Brooke Jr.

I Have to Sit Down

blogger, writer, speaker

