APOLOGIES ARE THEY A VIRTUE?

Forgivenlarge1

Life coach Tony Robbins, will often challenge those brave enough to step out of their comfort zone and contact one person in their life that the relationship was severed for whatever reason and repair it. You don’t necessarily have to be friends again, but you give that other person gratitude and forgiveness. A big challenge. Pope Francis today came out to speak of another challenge, a Lenten challenge he said “Lent is a time “for personal renewal” and for “community” that “brings us closer to God.” Highlighting the importance of “confidently” adhering “to his Gospel in order to look at our brothers and the needy with new eyes,” during this season, the Pope observed that it is “a suitable time to convert to be able to love our neighbor.” This love, he explained, is “a love that generates an attitude of gratitude and of mercy with the Lord, who ‘became poor to enrich us with his poverty.’”

How do we go about such a challenge?   In light of what Pope Francis has to say could apologizing be a virtue?and if so, we may want to consider apologies more seriously. Even if we are right we can still be sorry and it may seem simple, but I recall a time I apologized to someone and was  told my apology wasn’t done properly. In fact my husband tells me I need a lot of practice in the art of apologizing. I’m sorry he feels that way ha ha ha. My guess is I may not be alone in this area and if you are like me at all you may want to check out  this link. 

http://leadingwithtrust.com/2014/03/02/8-essentials-of-an-effective-apology/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I teach my kids that when they apologize it should include: the apology, what they are apologizing for and the ? of how they can make up for it. If it goes farther than that–if there is any kind of “but..” in the apology it diminishes it. In other words, if one says “I am sorry for my bad behavior but,…” then they are really saying ” it is not my fault because…” and therefore the apology is not sincere. With the help of God’s grace, hopefully I practice what I preach.

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing Anne, I’ve realized we all can use some fine tuning in the art of the apology and being most sincere. It’s good that you have open communication about this topic with your children. These are great opportunities for prevention of damaged relationships when learned young.

      Like

      • I think you are right…there probably is a degree of art to an apology—never thought of it in those terms before. art, not science

        Like

Be Sociable, Share!

Neal Obstat Theological Opining

Theological thoughts on current happenings

Winning With Jesus

Experiencing Victory in Jesus

Dawn's Faith Connection

blogger, writer, speaker

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Stop Running

Fr. Geoffrey A. Brooke Jr.

I Have to Sit Down

blogger, writer, speaker

