THE STARTLING TRUTH

May is National Foster Care month, working in the system I see and hear a lot of startling truths. Truths that the average person is not aware of and if I weren’t an adoptive parent of a foster care child and working in the system to match foster care children with families in North America, I would have troubling believing these startling truths. I have written a bit about them in some of my blogs and I am finalizing my son’s story but, for now, I will share with you a side of foster care that I have not written about. It’s a 10 minute documentary created by Robert Gauthier, he interviewed more than a dozen young men and women from the Los Angeles area who were on the verge of being emancipated from foster care or had recently aged-out of “the system.” Keep in mind my experience and knowledge tells me these numbers are on the conservative side, I believe them to be higher. At any rate this is a side of foster care that everyone should know  about and discuss ways they can improve the system, especially pro-life groups. 

http://graphics.latimes.com/life-after-foster-care/

Be Sociable, Share!

Wheat or Weeds

Matthew 13:24-30

Dawn's Faith Connection

blogger, writer, speaker

Neal Obstat Theological Opining

Theological thoughts on current happenings

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Stop Running

Fr. Geoffrey A. Brooke Jr.

I Have to Sit Down

blogger, writer, speaker

