PERSISTING THROUGH REJECTION

There was a time in my life that I felt inspired to write and illustrate a children’s book. I was young, about 26 years old and I test read my newly created book on every  kid I came in contact with and they all loved it which only inspired me more. I did my research of publishers, I acquired copy-write, I invested in copies and postage to snail mail my book to numerous publishers and I was rejected by every one. Some were polite, but not one of them would even look at my book without an agent. They rejected it sight unseen.  I knew nothing about agents at the time, nor their necessity in publication probably, because there was no mention of them in my research. This was completely new to me. After the sting of disappointment from so many rejections letters I began researching agents.  I became so overwhelmed by the amount of information and sorting through the steps I needed to carry out in choosing one and then agents having to interview me and reviewing my work to decide if they wanted to accept me (which could mean more rejection) and then dealing with their hiring fees and sharing a percentage of the small profits, that I tucked my little children’s book away and haven’t looked at it since.

How often do we do this to our dreams. We  set  goals to achieve them and then hit a wall of  obstacles and rejection and boom! We give up just like that. I bring this topic up, because it has been 7 months since we made our New Year’s resolution. In five months it will be Christmas then New Year’s again bringing us full circle. January 2014, I suggested we write on index cards 10 goals we wanted to accomplish this year. Have we taken out our list to see how we are doing? or have we lost our inspiration from hitting a wall of rejection like I was talking about? Have you ever heard the lottery saying, “if your not in it you can’t win it?” well the same holds true for your dreams. If you don’t stop talking about them and do something about them they will never happen.

Anything worth achieving is going to have obstacles and be met with some form of rejection. Our dreams are not going to come easy because, we need to believe in them and ourselves in order to manifest our dreams into reality.  We need to be persistent in spite of rejection and the world telling you it’s never going to happen. We can’t throw in the towel and give up, because it has challenges. Did you know that God told Abraham that he would be the father of all Nations before he had one child? and he was getting pretty old, beyond child-bearing years he had to persist in his faith, and the woman who had  hemorrhages for 12 years, believed so strongly, that if she but touch the hem of Jesus garment she would be healed.

a woman touch Jesus garment - 2 -  Google Search

That belief lead her to be persistent enough to squirm her way through the heavy crowd, putting herself at risk by contaminating a holy man by her touch making him unclean. Can you believe in your dreams that much? to be persistent and put yourself at risk? The Centurion believed enough to risk his reputation, his status, friends and family. He traveled night and day to find Jesus, because he believed he could make his dream come true and bring his daughter back from the dead. How far are we willing to go? and have we ever given thought that our rejections were not rejections at all, but delays to God’s promises?

I used to be a huge Stephen King fan. I’ve read just about everything he has ever written. He has an enormous amount of books published and I was shocked to hear how many times he had been rejected. His book Carrie was rejected 30 times. It has now sold more than 350 million copies has been made into a movie with many remakes.carrie

J.K. Rowling and her Harry Potter series was not only rejected 12 times, but she was told rather harshly not to quite her day job. Anne Frank’s diary was rejected 15 times and the famous “Gone with the Wind” was rejected 38 times. When Lucille Ball began studying to be actress in 1927, she was told by the head instructor to, “Try any other profession.”

If this isn’t proof enough that you should never give up, check out these rejection letters. These letters prove rejection is just a delay.  Look at Thomas Edison, he failed at inventing the light bulb 1,000 times.  When a reporter asked him how he felt to fail so many times he replied, I didn’t fail 1,000 times the light bulb was an invention with 1,000 steps.

Hear are some quotes that may help to motivate you:

“Great success is built on failure, frustration, even catastrophe” ~Sumner Redstone

“Failure provides the opportunity to begin again, more intelligently.” ~ Henry Ford

“Only those who dare to fail greatly can achieve greatly.” ~ Robert F. Kennedy

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games 26 times I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot … and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. That is why I succeed.” ~ Michael Jordan

“I don’t believe I have special talents, I have persistence … After the first failure, second failure, third failure, I kept trying.”
Carlo Rubbia, Nobel Prize winning Physicist

“No matter how hard you work for success, if your thought is saturated with the fear of failure, it will kill your efforts, neutralize your endeavors and make success impossible.” ~ Baudjuin

Did you know that Walt Disney’s first animation company went bankrupt and he was fired by a news editor because he lacked imagination. Rumor has it that he was turned down 302 times before he got financing for creating Disney World. Imagine if he gave up and stopped trying? Celebration-Disney-World

So what do you think after hearing about all of these failures to success stories? Does it motivate you to go back to pursuing your dreams? It certainly motivates me, I may even search my files and see if I can find that children’s book and finish what I started years ago.

I will leave you with a snippet from L.B. Cowman “Streams in the Desert,” ” The Lord longs to be gracious to you……Blessed are all who wait for him!” ( Isaiah 30:18) The Lord watches over us in all the difficult places and he will not allow even one trial that is too much for us. He will use His refining fire to burn away our impurities and will then gloriously come to our rescue. 

Do not grieve him by doubting his love. Instead, lift up your eyes and begin praising Him right now for the deliverance that is on its way to you. Then you will be abundantly rewarded for the delay that has tried your faith. 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Dawn i was really inspired by your letter. First i am amazed by how talented your are as a writer. i am also impressed with the content in your letter, well done. i have always been a person whom I considered to be persistent, but today after reading your letter I have met a person who displays more persistence than myself. I believe that god has already written my story and has given me my path to walk on. My personal journey just needs to be lived one step at a time. I think you are also on your god given path. It will be actualized one step at a time. Your letters will inspire one person than another, I am one of many that will hear and listen to your god given talents. Keep on your path, God with give you everything you want. Be patient and remember it is in his time not ours. Thank you for your gift of inspiration. Thank you for your personal definition of determination. I have been touch my your words.

    Your friend
    Daniel

    Like

    • Thank you Dan, I appreciate and value your positive response and thank you for sharing. It’s true everything is in God’s timing and we have to trust that in the end it will be better than anything we could ever imagine for ourselves. You continue to inspire me on your faith journey. Please stay in touch. Praying many blessings your way~Dawn : )

      Like

Be Sociable, Share!

Neal Obstat Theological Opining

Theological thoughts on current happenings

Winning With Jesus

Experiencing Victory in Jesus

Dawn's Faith Connection

blogger, writer, speaker

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Stop Running

Fr. Geoffrey A. Brooke Jr.

I Have to Sit Down

blogger, writer, speaker

