HOW TO GIVE UP BEING ADDICTED TO YOUR THOUGHTS

We talk about addiction a lot and with good reason, but we tend to forget about addictions not associated with drugs. I was recently reading an article by Marc and Angel Hack, that talks about how 90% of us struggle with being addicted to our thoughts. I’ve been hearing about this for years especially in relation to women. Many women tend to be obsessed with negative self-talk and body image. Repetitious thoughts throughout the day and night constantly in the negative. Like chemical drugs, negative thoughts hold the power to self-sabotage.

There is a technique I have been reading about that can help break free from thought addiction. It is called “cognitive reframing.” It is a psychological technique that consists of countering your negative thoughts by replacing it with a positive one. It takes practice, but every time you catch yourself thinking negatively immediately counter with a positive. Wikipedia says this,

Cognitive reframing can refer to almost any conscious shift in a person’s mental perspective. For this reason, it is commonly confused with both cognitive restructuring and cognitive distortion. However, there are distinct differences between the three. Reframing is the general change in a person’s mindset, whether it be a positive or negative change. Restructuring is the act of therapeutically changing one’s mindset to strengthen oneself—meaning that it always has a positive connotation. In this way, cognitive restructuring is a particular instance of cognitive reframing.

Tony Robbins, swears by incantations. He credits these incantations ( I call them prayers to God) attributing to his huge success. He says this,

If you are part of the 90% struggling with thought addiction know you are not alone. You are one of many and hold the power to change. Everyone wants progress, but many don’t want to make changes. We cannot change anything if we cannot change our thinking. I saw this little girl a few weeks ago and it confirmed for me what Tony Robbins and Marc and Angel are talking about. Perhaps, we could all take a cue from adorable Jessica.

A Prayer to Break Free from Addiction:

God, I know You can help me overcome this addiction, and I’m so thankful, because I want to be free. Every time I come to You, I win another battle. Help me remember what Your Word says: You will never leave me or forsake me, and You love me no matter what. Thank You, Lord, for showing me who I am in You. Amen.

~Joyce Meyers

PHILLIPIANS 4:13

I CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST WHO STRENGTHENS ME

Be Sociable, Share!

Wheat or Weeds

Matthew 13:24-30

Dawn's Faith Connection

blogger, writer, speaker

Neal Obstat Theological Opining

Theological thoughts on current happenings

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Stop Running

Fr. Geoffrey A. Brooke Jr.

I Have to Sit Down

blogger, writer, speaker

