A PERSONAL STORY OF CHOOSING LIFE OVER DEATH

The month of October is dedicated to “respect for life” so most people hear or read a lot about abortion, especially on social media, however, being truly pro-life is about much more. Throughout this month, I would like to explore what that much more is. Last week, at Sacred Heart Church in Bay Head, our pastor Fr. Michael brought to us a speaker that I thought was exceptional. She not only represented pro-life in a broad context, but she also exemplifies Christian discipleship in action. Since I cannot relate her story enough to give it the full justice it deserves I have asked her to tell it to all of you who read this blog and she has graciously agreed. I know by reading it you will feel in your heart what I have and you will be moved to some sort of action. Perhaps, you can add the Madonna House to your Church ministries, personal mission or advocacy efforts. Now please, let me introduce to you, Rebecca Blonski.

WHY I AM PRO-LIFE!

By Rebecca Blonski

Alene

Muriel Alene Haithcock ~ May 8, 1906, ~ October 6, 2007

 

Dedicated to my Dear, Beautiful Mother

This picture was taken when she was 101 years of age.

 

October ~ Respect Life Month

 

My name is Rebecca Blonski.  I am the founder and director of Madonna House in Neptune, an ALL VOLUNTEER apostolate serving families for the past 28 YEARS with the necessities of life  ~ All given away freely!   We have NO paid staff, including me, and we take NO government funding!  We are a genuine charity! 

I am PRO-LIFE and PROUD! Respecting Life is the very expression of what the Catechism of the Catholic Church teaches: Which is:  Human

Life must be respected and protected absolutely from the moment of conception. From the first moment of one’s existence, a human being must be recognized as having the rights of a person.

Being Pro-Life is imperative!  Some women choose abortion because they simply cannot provide for their baby, coerced by family or friends to rid themselves of what some consider a “mistake.” When in reality we all know it is “ human life” and God does NOT make mistakes.

2 month fetus

In Psalm 139: 13-16… it is written:

For YOU created my inmost being;

YOU knit me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise YOU because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

My frame was not hidden from YOU

YOUR eyes saw my unformed body;

All the days ordained for me were written in YOUR book.

 

 

Holy Mother Church implores us to love one another and reach out to the most vulnerable in our society.    Which means serving others who are helpless and powerless; advocating the worthiness of every human being and embracing human life as the greatest of all God’s gifts.

I am the last of 3 children.   My mother had very difficult pregnancies.  In fact, my mother actually died giving birth to my older sister, her 2nd

child.  By God’s Grace, my mother was brought back to life and was told…. NEVER…ever conceive again!   But, that was not in God’s plan.  Five years later I was created, and again my mother became very ill.   She was told to abort me, but she had never heard the word before didn’t know its meaning.   While explaining an abortion to my mother, she was informed that if she didn’t abort ME, she would surely die.   Convinced that her pregnancy with me was truly a gift from God, my mother told her doctor:   “If God has allowed me to conceive this child then it must be for a very good reason.”    The irony of it all….is that in spite of my mother being told that she would surely die…. if she didn’t abort me……my mother….CHOSE  LIFE….and God allowed her to live to be…..101 years old!  In fact… my mother converted to the Catholic faith at 100 years of age; which proves that God never gives up on us!

If my mother had aborted me, I would not be writing this.   My 2 natural born children would NOT have been born; the 7 children that I adopted would NOT have been adopted and as infants would NOT have been spared death and destruction; my 10 grandchildren would not have been born; the tens of thousands of children that have been helped through Madonna House would not have been helped, plus the many children Madonna House has saved from abortion would never have been saved.

Mary

I always pray that my children become Saints. The first child that I adopted with the help of a Priest wanted to become a Priest himself. He had finished his second-year novitiate to the Priesthood and was about to enter his third year as an honor student at Thomas More College, in New Hampshire, pursuing a philosophy degree. However, unfortunately,…my precious son died: he drowned at college!   I was devastated! My heart will forever be broken!   But, on the positive side, my son LOVED life! Every moment he was filled with joy and he loved God above all! Now he is with Our Lord and is interceding for all of us. I also have two boys who are severely physically challenged, but they are PURE HOLY INNOCENTS! So now, I have three Saints: one in Heaven and two on earth.   What more could a mother ask for? Except…more Saints!

This all goes back to MY MOTHER. I was saved…others were saved…. through her.   She CHOSE LIFE…EVEN IN THE FACE OF DEATH…. so that others could live!

In the Old Testament in Deuteronomy 30:19 it says:

This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now, choose life, so that you and your children may live.

 

EVERY human life is a GIFT from God.  Therefore, our challenge must be to value ALL human life, in ALL its stages, from beginning to natural death. Whether rich or poor, happy or suffering, because, ALL human life is worthy. ALL of us…. EVERYONE of us… must remain vigilant in the protection of Human Life from the womb to the grave.

For more information about Madonna House or to make a donation check out www.themadonnahouse.org

Be Sociable, Share!

Neal Obstat Theological Opining

Theological thoughts on current happenings

Winning With Jesus

Experiencing Victory in Jesus

Dawn's Faith Connection

blogger, writer, speaker

Dating God

Franciscan Spirituality for the 21st Century

Stop Running

Fr. Geoffrey A. Brooke Jr.

I Have to Sit Down

blogger, writer, speaker

